Fjällbacka, a fishing village

Fjällbacka has a very long history, started from Stone Age. It was a place where Ingrid Bergman lived when she visited Sweden and was featured in the film “Ronja the Robber’s Daughter” of Astrid Lindgren.

But I was not aware of its existence until I watched a detective TV series, Fjällbackamorden (Fjällbacka Murders), of Camilla Läckberg. It was the series and filming techniques that attracted me to this small and charming village on the west coast of Sweden.

This and other villages around here have given me a new picture of Sweden. This is not similar to anything I have seen in big cities such as Stockholm, Gothenburg and Malmö, in towns in the mountains or small islands i Stockholm’s archipelago.

Here you will find characteristic houses and harbors along the coast lines and more summer houses up on the hills. There is a hill that situates in the middle of the village where you can easily climb up to get a breathtaking view over the village and archipelago.

About photography. In the beginning it was supposed to be photos of orange and Falun red/maroon houses contrasting with blue skies. However, everyone of us knows that we cannot control the weather so I used an inspiration from the series to shoot my photos instead.

Now, let me present you Fjällbacka through my lens! The photos are on order how I discovered them.

Stora Hotellet, Fjällbacka

Stora Hotellet

Fjällbacka coastlines

Fjällbacka houses and harbors

The harbor

Boats and the harbor

Kungsklyftan

A view from Kungsklyftan

A view of archipelago

A view of archipelago

A view of archipelago from Kungsklyftan

A view of archipelago from Kungsklyftan

Harbors and coastlines

Harbors and coastlines

Kungsklyftan, a cleft that has huge stone blocks wedged in like a roof

Kungsklyftan, a cleft that has huge stone blocks wedged in like a roof

Stora (Big) and Lilla (Little) Vetteberget

Stora (Big) and Lilla (Little) Vetteberget

A fantastic view from the top of Vetteberget. There is something in this picture that makes me fall in love with it. Perhaps powerful coastal wind.

A fantastic view from the top of Vetteberget. There is something in this picture that makes me fall in love with. Perhaps powerful coastal wind.

On the top of Vetteberget

Miniature of lakes and forests on the top of Vetteberget

A coastline next to the sailing school

A coastline next to the sailing school

At the sailing school

At the sailing school

This to remind me the location where I stood and enjoyed breathtaking views. Did you see the stairs?

This to remind me the location where I stood and enjoyed breathtaking views. Can you find the stairs?

I thought I was lost to discover the place :)

It costed me to get lost to discover the place 🙂

Leading line

A leading line

Can't have enough of the scenes :D

Can’t have enough of the scenes 😀

I have to thank those guys for standing on the pier :D

I have to thank the guys for standing on the pier 😀

It's midsummer, so we can't miss a majstång (maypole) at Ingrid Bergman Square

It’s midsummer, so we can’t miss a majstång (maypole) at Ingrid Bergman Square

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Fjällbacka, a fishing village”

  1. karmami says :

    lovely photos

  2. jaroen wattanasin says :

    ภาพสวยมากๆ

    Sent from my iPad

  3. jakann says :

    Perfekt och vackert och fina bilder som vanligt. Min goa Jay!

  4. ilariasperfectrecipes.com says :

    What a nice village! And nice pictures!!!

Leave a Reply

