Logbook from Åre: ski day 2

(WARNING! It was for me to remember about what had happened and not much about giving travel information)

JJ started his day with removing snow and fixing our walkway. Snow came back today, I wondered if we could go skiing but it seemed lots of people were on their way already. It’s probably similar to, while you’re on earth, why you will be afraid of rain. Yah!!! that’s rain but this is snow, it’s bloody cold, you know.

First thing I saw when opening the door

First thing I saw when opening the door

Next door

Next door

I still worked on my progress on basic skiing techniques but on longer, wider and steeper slopes. Vargbacken fits my level of skiing well, but then JJ tempted me to went to Björnbacken and that’s when the new challenge began.

Vargbacken on a snowy day

Vargbacken on a snowy day

Well, it was a failure on Björnbacken, 4-time falls but no injury. It’s quite steep (too steep for me) with high snow powder which required other techniques. My speed increased on each turn until it went out of control and I fell or forced myself to fall. However, I managed to get down or it’s more like I had to cause I wouldn’t let such an insecure feeling stay with me so long. Once I was down, I knew we’d meet again soon. I’d decided to finish it before I left Åre (even though I was unsure I could).

Down from Björnbacken

Down from Björnbacken

We’re a lazy couple, so after few hours of skiing, we just got ourselves a table and energy food at the same restaurant. We weren’t disappointed and few days later, JJ went back to order hamburger again because of the juicy hamburger meat.

Pasta with smoked moose, parmesan cheese, parsley and champion at Carins Korg

Pasta with smoked moose, parmesan cheese, parsley and champion at Carins Korg

Carins hamburger

Carins hamburger

When we came back JJ started his rutin by removing snow and fixing the walkway!

Last thing I saw before the door was closed

Last thing I saw before the door was closed

I didn’t exercise regularly lately, so going skiing 4-5 hours a day every day was on the way too much. At the end of the day, it had depleted my energy but tomorrow I had a holiday (from ski) :D. We’re going to do a test drive of Audi S5 quattro on the lake!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

