Resume Shakespeare’s Macbeth

This is ridiculous to tell a story of what I am doing these days. As many know I must have been busy with doing my thesis. Yes, I am. But I am also doing many things in the meanwhile. Recently, I have got hooked up with Shakespeare’s plays, according to my senior friend. Few days ago I had just recalled that I used to read one of his plays, Macbeth, when I was in university. It must be because I didn’t appreciate much of the play at that time, I forgot I had read it before. 

Thanks to my senior friend, I would like to resume to read Shakespeare’s. I thought I could have loved his plays and continued reading them if I had friends helping me with the reading. Now I have so that I start again with Macbeth. Today, I did some research on Macbeth and I found an interesting website which would help me appreciate Shakespeare’s more.

It’s about ‘never-die’ work of Shakespeare’s although they were written for over 400 years and it really puts Shakespeare’s popularity into perspective. Some films 30 years ago would be badly dated if we watch them today but not if we watch Shakespeare’s. It is because Shakespeare wrote about basic human flaws: King Lear‘s pride, Othello‘s jealousy or Macbeth‘s ambition. Importantly, Shakespeare didn’t judge these faults. He didn’t preach: he simply told us the story and we made our own minds up.

Obviously, basic human flaws are timeless subjects. We’re proud, jealous, and ambitious. Thus the work is still effective, it lets the audience draw their own conclusions. What I amusingly think is Shakespeare preferred this way because he could probably not give conclusion himself; thus he left it to his audience; but surprisingly his audience took it seriously.

3 responses to “Resume Shakespeare’s Macbeth”

  1. Foojan says :

    I tried once to read Shakespears novel in original writting (i.e. thee, thou, some very old words). Then, I cannot force myself through even the first chapter T__T… … I gave up and bought Thai version to read :D… I remember Othello.. I remember Macbeth… but cannot remember King Lear leh… (isn\’t the one who lost his daughter?) I rather find the book and re-read again… (but will looking for happy-ending one, Midsummer Night\’s Dream or the Merchant of Vanice)
     
     

  2. Tha says :

    I never read any of his novel, actually, I hardly read novel since I got in the university.
    I\’ve watched Romeo&Juliet (yeah, the very famous one but I have to tell that I\’m not keen on that kind of story) and Midsummer Night\’s Dream (@Hallmark channel)
     
    Once you\’ve started, it kind of encourage me to start reading his novels la

  3. Tha says :

    I never read any of his novel, actually, I hardly read novel since I got in the university.
    I\’ve watched Romeo&Juliet (yeah, the very famous one but I have to tell that I\’m not keen on that kind of story) and Midsummer Night\’s Dream (@Hallmark channel)
     
    Once you\’ve started, it kind of encourage me to start reading his novels la

Leave a Reply

