A Disappointing Reading

Does everything start with a question? I’m reading an e-book, Everyone’s an expert (on something), by Seth Godin. He started with four questions.
 
How do I get more traffic to my site?
How do I find what I’m looking for on the web?
Where are the experts?
Can I be one?
 
These questions lead to a finding, they make us think, they click me in a way that I never mind to care about. I’m not a person who’s full of creativity. I need it from others. That’s why I read and that’s why I want to find out about the second question. How do I find good articles on the Internet? Don’t let my problem bother you. Actually, I intend to write about contents of the e-book. And it goes like this.
 
Funnily enough, this book turned out to talk about Web 2.0, somehow relating to my thesis, Semantic Web, which can lead to ontology. It’s nothing close to what I expected from the book. I wanted to read an article that would cheer me up, to look on yourself differently and positively. It said, "Everyone’s an expert (on something)." Again, Google plays a leading role in this story. It starts with human’s inquisitive nature. We question, we need answers, we google.
 
Here comes a definition of Everybody is an expert about something, it’s part of Web 2.0 features which allow people to speak out, the Web that comes with a feature for people to share their ideas and opinions with others in communities. Then it seems like everybody who is talking he/she is an expert on the thing they are talking about. And such feature you always find in a typical blog editor.
 
Then how’s it related to Semantic Web? In the beginning of our search, we just poke around with search abilities of Google, we type keywords, we get results, we read through lines of information, but we don’t get it until we know meaning or what authors want to convey. So the point is meaning of information is crucial. Then I found out that the author was introducing his product called Squidoo. It’s a place where people in cyber world can annotate their Web resources to make others understand them more. If you have a blog, you can annotate your blog like which category it falls into, what your blog is about, what kind of info can be found, or you can annotate about yourself, after audience read about yourself it might make them want to know more about you or what you involve with. So you can add more info (metadata – data about data) to describe your data.
 
When I finished reading, I was disappointed, actually it heppened since I found the definition of Everybody is an expert. It’s my leisure time I wanted to read anything else but whatever related to my thesis. -__-!
Leave a Reply

