Salute Frasier

Still, I have been watching Frasier.
 
It’s the funniest, sophisticated comedy series I have ever watched. The show has well-written scripts and great character development. I know I’m kinda living in the jurassic park. The show had ended its last season when I first watched it. Frasier was first broadcasted in 1993 in the U.S. and had its final season in 2004. I just watched it last year thanks to my ex-roommate, Farah. Many thanks to her to recommend me the show.
 
Frasier won the Emmy Awards in Outstanding Comedy Series for five consecutive years (1994-1998); Kelsay won 4 Emmy awards for his lead actor role as Dr. Frasier Crane; David Hyde Pierce won 4 Emmy awards for his supporting actor role as Dr. Niles Crane; David also won the funniest supporting male performer from the Ameican Comedy Award for 5 consecutive years (1995-1999).
 
Why did this show win so many awards and have its show on TV primetime for 11 years? Now, I’m looking for a reason why the show had strong audience over 11 years and made me love it.
 
It is because Frasier was a loveable character who was always innocent in his pomposity. As he was described by Julia in Analyze Kisses of season 10, he was irritating but endearing. He loved to butt in to help people around him with their problems, (and that part of his job,) but most of the time he made the situation even worse. But most of his mistakes were forgivable because of his good heart. Frasier was essentially a good person and convicted that people were good that sometimes caused him troubles. Just like bad people take advantage of good people. 
 
Another reason could be the show was about family stories and bonds among family members. These are the stories that we live with every day. You can tell hundreds stories about family, it has new stories every day. Even though what was going on in Frasier’s family was not common and somewhat wierd yet delightful. I liked a concept of sibling rivalry between Frasier and his brother, Niles. They competed in everything, when one person had something another person had to have it, too. But it was presented in a lovely way. They were deadly competitive but with love and good intention. One of Martin’s birthday, for instance, Frasier and Niles competed on finding a greater birthday present for their very own father. Imagine if you were Martin, what would you feel when two great sons deadly wanted you to be happy with their gift? Would you blame them? They just wanted you to be happy on your birthday even though they stupidly spent their money but it’s their money and they had ability to generate it. So, on that year Martin just got over it and enjoyed the finding birthday gift competition.
 
Sometimes, the show was just ironic about life. Buying pricey gift was not a right way to show your love, but some people choose that way. And, so do Frasier and Niles. In one interview, Kelsey said Frasier was enormously human. That’s very true. He succeeded, he failed; he’s happy, he’s sad; he can joke, he can be serious. Above all, he has many of shallow side of human. He’s imperfect. By watching Frasier, you touch of real life.
 
There are a lot more why I find myself fall in love in this show.
 
Martin: I don’t know how to be Jewish.
Niles: Well, just answer questions with a question.
Martin: Like what?
Niles: What, I have to explain everything?
Martin: Can’t you give me an example?
Niles: What, I should give you an example?
Martin: Are you going to help me or not?
Niles: You’re saying I’m not being helpful?
Martin: Oh, forget it!
 
I grinned to myself with a delightful feeling, and hahahahahahaha!!!!!
Tags:

Leave a Reply

