[Frasier] The Show Where Lilith Comes Back

We are pitiful people who have to pay for someone to listen to our problems, to support our decisions, and to share their opinions with us. We are pathetic if we have to come to psychiatrists for those reasons because we can’t find friends to be there for us.
 
Niles: It appears you have come to some sort of a crossroads.
Frasier: Oh, that’s a nice tidy little way of saying I’m in hell. 
         Niles, I have a life here that suits me, and yet I can’t
         help wondering if there is still some chance for
         reconciliation, if it’s worth exploring the feelings
         that—that I’m feeling.  Do you think I should see her again
         tonight?
  Niles: Frasier, like most patients who come to a therapist, you
         already know the answer to the question you’re posing.  You
         just want me to agree with your decision and support you
         whether I share your opinion or not.
Frasier: Yes, but I don’t have an opinion in this case.
  Niles: I’m sure you do.
Frasier: But I don’t.
  Niles: Well, then I can’t help you.
Frasier: All right, all right.  I think in my soul, I’m leaning
         toward taking the next step and, uh, seeing if there’s
         anything… there.
  Niles: That is what you should do.
Frasier: Why?
  Niles: You know why.
Frasier: Damn it, Niles!
  Niles: Frasier, you know why.
Beat.  Niles looks at Frasier expectantly.
Frasier: All right.  We have a long history together, we-we have a
         son that we both adore.  There were some good times, and
         when they were good… Hoo-ah!
  Niles: Well, it seems our minds are pretty well made up, aren’t
         they?
Frasier: Yes, they are.  Thank you, Niles.  I don’t know what I’d do
         without you.
  Niles: Yes, you do.
Frasier: Drop it!
 
Hope you have friends, family, relatives, or partner as your therapists and spend money at dinner with them not with a real psychiatrist.
Tags:

Leave a Reply

