Destinations in Stockholm

To follow steps of a Swedes who was born and raised up here is not a bad idea. I found her article Tourist for a Day in SthlmGuideMap 06/07 while I was strolling by a furry port. The purpose of her writing is to guide a tourist how to see one of the most beautiful cities in a day. She didn’t agree with this idea at first but then she wrote down a wish list of places, went out on the town and did a dry run.

I, therefore, make a note of places that she visited. And, I intend to visit all of places on my note some time before I leave for my homeland. Here are names of those places:-
Valdemarsudde
Millesgården, a wonderful sculpture park on Lidingö. It was once a residence of Carl Milles, one of Sweden’s greatest sculptors, and besides the beautiful garden filled with Milles’ works, it also features a museum, an art gallery, and a cafe bistro.
Stadshuset (the City Hall), with its majestic tower adorned with three gold crowns, is situated on the banks of Lake Mälaren. Don’t miss the celebrated Golden Hall, and the Blue Hall where the Nobel banquet takes place. (I’m looking forward to visiting it on October 3, 2006, for a reception held by the City of Stockholm and the Stockholm County Council.)
Moderna museet
Slottet
Norr Mälarstrand (a street)
Söder Mälarstrand (a street)
Djurgården (by taking the furry)
Skansen, located on the island of Djurgården
Vasamuseet, home of the world-famous royal warship Vasa, located on the island of Djurgården
Walking under Stockholm’s bridges
Kungliga slottet
(The Royal Palace), its museum, and gift shop. The Changing of the Guards is a particular favorite among visitors and residents alike.
Tomtar och Troll (on Österlånggatan in Gamla Stan)
Stortorget square
Nobelmuseet
(treat yourself to some Nobel ice cream at Kafe Satir)
Gondolen (find a chance to dine here, and experience its supurb cuisine and fantastic view of Stockholm)

 
Perfect spot for capturing Stockholm’s beauty in photograph: Fjällgatan (on Södermalm), where you will be rewarded with a splendid view of the city. The tower at City Hall, Solliden on Djurgården, and the islands of Skeppsholmen and Riddarholmen also offer stunning panoramas and perfect photo opportunities.

(I haven’t known where they are located or how to reach them, nevertheless, I know what I’m looking for.)

 
Thank you for information from SthlmGuideMap 06/07 and SavorSthlm 05/06
One response to “Destinations in Stockholm”

  1. Nattawan says :

    Now I\’m not sure if Slottet and Kungliga Slottet (Royal Palace) are the same.
     
    During touring Gamla Stan on Sep 9, I came across Tomtar och Troll. After I had taken many photos of interesting things inside this shop, I recognized that I ever saw the name of the shop before.
     
    The path that I had to walk on Gamla Stan tour also included Stortorget square where the Nobelmuseet is located.
     

Leave a Reply

